Two Members Elected, Six Members Appointed to Internet2 Board of Trustees

Subscribe for more like this



Estimated reading time: 3 minutes

WASHINGTON, D.C., November 9, 2022 – Internet2 today announced the election of two members and the appointment of six members to the Internet2 Board of Trustees. The Internet2 Board provides strategic direction, leadership, and oversight for Internet2, and it includes four standing committees as well as special committees. 

The Internet2 Board held its annual election this fall, resulting in the election of new trustee Cynthia Larive, chancellor of the University of California, Santa Cruz, and the re-election of trustee Sean Reynolds, vice president for information technology and chief information officer at Northwestern University. 

Internet2 logo

Larive and Reynolds will each serve a three-year term starting November 1, 2022.

This year, the Internet2 Board reappointed trustee Romayne Botti, vice chancellor for finance at Rutgers University, for a three-year term ending in October 2025. The Internet2 Board also appointed five new trustees: 

  • Rebecca Cunningham, vice president for research at the University of Michigan, to a board vacancy with a term ending October 2023; 
  • Elias G. Eldayrie, vice president and chief information officer for the University of Florida, for a three-year term ending October 2025; 
  • David Lassner, president of the University of Hawaii, to a board vacancy with a term ending October 2024; 
  • Melissa Loble, chief customer experience officer at Instructure, to a board vacancy with a term ending October 2024; and 
  • Daniel Reed, presidential professor in computational science at the University of Utah, for a three-year term ending October 2025.

Satish Tripathi, president of the University at Buffalo, SUNY, has been appointed chair of the Internet2 Board, and Gregory Washington, president of George Mason University, has been appointed vice chair. 

Outgoing Internet2 Board members are Pradeep Khosla, chancellor at the University of California San Diego who served as chair of the Internet2 Board in 2020-2022; Duncan Brown, vice president for research at Syracuse University; Eric Burns, co-founder of Panopto; F. Alex Feltus, professor at Clemson University; and Jeff Hollingsworth, vice president of information technology and chief information officer at the University of Maryland, College Park.

On behalf of the Internet2 community, the Board of Trustees would like to recognize the contributions of outgoing trustees for their dedication and service to the mission and principles of Internet2.

Learn more about the Internet2 Board of Trustees. 

About Internet2

Internet2® is a non-profit, member-driven advanced technology community founded by the nation’s leading higher education institutions in 1996. Internet2 serves 325 U.S. universities, 58 government agencies, 46 regional and state education networks and through them supports more than 80,000 community anchor institutions, over 1,000 InCommon participants, and 58 leading corporations working with our community, and 70 national research and education network operators that represent more than 100 countries.

Internet2 delivers a diverse portfolio of technology solutions that leverages, integrates, and amplifies the strengths of its members and helps support their educational, research, and community service missions. Internet2’s core infrastructure components include the nation’s largest and fastest research and education network that was built to deliver advanced, customized services that are accessed and secured by the community-developed trust and identity framework.

Internet2 offices are located in Ann Arbor, Mich.; Denver, Colo.; and Washington, D.C. For more information, visit https://internet2.edu or follow @internet2 on Twitter.

Media Contact: 

Amber Rasche
Internet2 Communications