Schedule for CLASS Fall 2021 Advanced Cohort

CLASS logo
The Fall 2021 Advanced CLASS Cohort will begin on October 12, 2021, and complete by January 27, 2022. Please note that CLASS will not meet the week of SC (November 14-19, 2021); the week of Thanksgiving (November 22-26, 2021), or over holiday break (December 20, 2021-January 7, 2022).

The CLASS program is divided into four parts introduced by a short kickoff session and initial pre-work:

Part 0: October 12 and 14, 2021

TitleDetailsTime
Program Kickoff and Prework Program introductions and pre-work to prepare for training.Pre-work will require approximately 4-8 hours of work depending on a participant’s background. Kickoff Meetings will be held on October 12 and October 14-2021 at 9 a.m.-11.a.m. PT/10 a.m.-12 p.m. MT/11 a.m. – 1 p.m. CT/ 12 p.m. – 2 p.m. ET.


Part 1: October 18-29 (Group 1) and November 1-12 (Group 2), 2021

TitleDetailsTime
Structured Training
Two-week intensive structured training session in small groups (max 15 per group) with asynchronous introduction; synchronous instruction and discussion; and, synchronous and asynchronous labs.Sessions run 4 days a week from 8 a.m. – 2 p.m. PT | 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. MT | 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. CT | 11 a.m. – 5 p.m. ET for two weeks (Wednesdays are generally free/off)

Participants will be scheduled for either the last half of October or the first half of November based on preference and availability (your dates will be confirmed prior to registration).


Part 2: December 7, 9, 14, 16, 2021

TitleDetailsTime
Workshop Intensive sessions Hands-on exploration of specific areas of technology with each of the three cloud providers (individual sessions).Sessions will be held in December.


Part 3: January 11, 13, 18, 20, 25, and 27, 2022

TitleDetailsTime
Architectural Review sessions Architects from each of the three cloud providers will conduct an architectural review of use-cases contributed from the community, noting best practices, porting concerns, potential issues, etc. (with separate sessions for each provider).Sessions will be held throughout January 2022.


Part 4: Class Community (Ongoing)

Additional workshop intensives, architectural reviews, and discussion/sharing of experience among the participants. Participants can also contribute to an (optional) capstone team project.

Structured Training

The Structured Training portion of the Advanced Cohort program is designed to level-set the participants to ensure that everyone has an understanding of the technologies provided by the three major providers, to build a shared vocabulary of the academic cloud space, to provide an understanding of cloud architecture, and to build community within the cohort through discussion. The Structured Training is provided by a certified training partner, combining architecture and technology with a balance between lecture and hands-on exercises, and using content and examples relevant to the research computing and data community.

The Structured Training will be conducted online with a mixture of synchronous and asynchronous learning. The cohort will be divided into groups with no more than 15 individuals per group to ensure a highly interactive environment for questions and discussions. Participants will be expected to complete 4-8 hours of assigned pre-work to ensure that they are ready for the sessions.

Structured Training Topics include:

The Workshop Intensive sessions offer hands-on exploration of specific areas of technology (with others to follow in the ongoing community discussions). As an example, the first cohort focused on these two topics and architects from each of the three cloud providers took participants through support on their platform (in individual sessions for each provider):

The Architectural Review sessions explore use-cases contributed by the cohort participants. The cohort will discuss selected real world use-cases (either current cloud implementations, or an existing workflow that will be moved to the cloud). Architects from each of the three cloud providers will conduct an architectural review of each use-case, noting best practices, porting concerns, potential issues, etc. (Individual sessions are held for each provider on each use-case.) The initial cohort explored the following use-cases:

Looking for CLASS requirements, preparation guidance, and fee and registration information?

REQUIRED BACKGROUND AND SELF-ASSESSMENT | PREPARATION AND PRE-WORK | FEES AND REGISTRATION

– Back to CLASS Fall 2021 Advanced Cohort Information